Big Time

All you round ladies out there, gather round.  I just want you to know that, despite the skinny-loving media in the United States, you’ve actually got it pretty good.

Last week, I needed to buy a pair of jeans.  I didn’t know that all Nicaraguan establishments have an addiction to air conditioning, and so I only packed one full-length pair.  So, I knew it was going to be really difficult because I am a tall lady, and the average height here for women is about 4’11”.  I put on my game face and headed to the mall.

Carrion is a less-expensive department store here where I’ve bought a few shirts and dresses that fit me really well.  I figured this would be a good place to look.  I tried on the 10/11s… literally could not get them past my knees.  So I moved up to the 14/15s…. no WAY were those babies about to fit over my bedonk.

Those were the largest jeans they had…until I found the plus-sized section.  Oh, plus-sized clothing…I really do not want to get to know you.  But I needed jeans, there was no doubt about it, and so I decided to ignore the numbers and just put them on and go from there.  I tried on 7 pairs in various styles.  None fit my waste.  Finally I tried on two pairs of 18s.  They were both passable.  I inspected them to see which pair I preferred….

On the back glared the shiny leather brand: BIG TIME.

En serio, Nicaragua??? You just HAD to name the only brand of jeans that fit me BIG TIME???

What a self-esteem boost, Nicaragua.

What it comes down to is that Nicaraguans like bigger people.  The men here like bigger women, and the women do naturally have curvy figures.

Linda Parkyn, I did pay attention during your globalization class.  I think what is happening is that the media and markets in Nicaragua are at the same place that the United States were about 15 years ago in terms of body image and perception of beauty.  Advertising and production trends are working their very hardest to convince the women here, and the men, that skinny and blonde and white is always the most beautiful.  Literally all advertising features white women.  I have yet to see any with black men or women, despite the large African-descended population in Managua and throughout the east coast.  The women are exactly what you would expect from toxic advertising: tall and slim, pale and pink complexions, light eyes, long light hair, minimal amounts of clothing….the same goes for the men: tall and slim, perfect abs, light complexions, eyes, and hair…  Everything that average Nicaraguan men and women are not.

So listen up, BIG TIME, and all your tiny little friends…  back off from Nicaragua ok?  I’m on to you, and I’m not the only one.   These people are beautiful just the way they are, and the last thing they need is a lot of richy riches telling them they need to change the way they look, so there.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Reggie Carry
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 11:14:13

    love this post lizzy.. lol big time?????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

